Critical Dallas ISD Runoff Election Results

On Saturday, June 16,  a runoff election was held between challenger Justin Henry and 9-year incumbent Bernadette Nutall.  Dallas ISD District 9 voters  elected new leadership for the Dallas ISD Board of Trustees. 

2394 total votes (4% turnout) with Henry receiving 1501 votes (or 63%)

May 14, 2018 -- "I want to thank everyone who supported me during my run for DISD Trustee District 9. We might not have won the votes necessary to win or make a runoff, but started a conversation that will forever change educational outcomes in District 9.
67% of voters decided that it's time for new leadership. As a proud graduate of The Great James Madison High School and resident of Sunny South Dallas, I agree with the voters.
Students deserve the best education and leadership that will advocate for them.
I'm asking everyone who supported my candidacy for DISD Trustee to support my friend Justin Henry. I know Justin will work in the best interest of the community and bring equitable resources to District 9. -- Edward Tuner

Join Us: Support Candidates with a Kids-First Mindset

Bernadette Nutall

  • Trustee Nutall declined to participate in our process and therefore was not evaluated using the DKF scorecard criteria. As an alternative, DKF is presenting critical aspects of Trustee nutall's voting history. See below. 
  • Bernadette Nutall was first elected to the Board in 2009.
  • Incumbent Voting History

    District 9

    Over 20 community members, including students, educators, and District 9 residents interviewed candidates for leadership in District 9.  Candidate scorecards were developed and our members surveyed to determine the endorsement decision reflected below. Read more about this process here

    South Dallas and parts of Downtown Dallas, Pleasant Grove, Deep Ellum, Uptown, and East Dallas

    Current Trustee: Bernadette Nutall - Served 3 terms, 2009 to Present

    Candidate Score Cards

    How candidates are scored

    For more information on how and when to vote, visit our voting section.